Rising Star Communicator

The Rising Star Communicator Scholarship

Each year, the Tulsa professional chapter of AWC awards up to two $1,000 scholarships to outstanding student members. The 2015 Rising Star Communicator Award(s) will be presented at the annual AWC Tulsa Professional Chapter Newsmakers Luncheon on May 6, 2015.

Winners are selected based on demonstrated excellence in communications, positive contributions toward communication on campus and/or in the community, demonstrated commitment to a career in the communications profession and scholastic achievement. The Scholarship Application Nomination Guidelines include the criteria and submission instructions:

2015 Rising Star Communicator Award Winners

Alex Batchelor-Strohm is currently a student at Oklahoma State University and anticipates graduating in December 2015 with her major in Multimedia Journalism with a concentration in Video Production. When not in class, Alex is a freelance reporter for The Oklahoman newspaper, and she is a Campus Representative for “fashionABLE” and promotes awareness for the company that supports women in Africa. She recently spent time as a Videographer for The Oklahoman newspaper and The Daily O’Collegian (OSU campus newspaper).
Alex said, “Whether it is through words or film, I am responsible for creating an experience that connects with an audience. Being a videographer and multimedia journalism student has helped me understand what it means to be a storyteller and realize the impact the media has. For me, film is a platform to tell stories and experiences that can relate and touch all of us.”
      Sarah Rogers is currently a student at Rogers State University in Claremore and anticipates graduating in the near future with her major in Broadcast Journalism. When not in class, Sarah is a Sports Writer for VYPE magazine, an Assignment Desk Editor/Sports Producer for FOX 23 News, and a Football Correspondence Writer for the Tulsa World newspaper.
Sarah said, “I eat, sleep and dream sports. As a sports writer, my responsibilities include interviewing players and coaches, organization of games and schedules, and the maintenance of covering games and events, and reporting them to the public online and in print. Through my internships and work experiences, I have learned to be organized, creative and prepared to work in a team environment.”

Past Rising Communicator Award Winners

Sarah Hartley – 2014
Katie Snyder – 2014
Heather Crain – 2013
Tanner Thurman – 2013
Megan Sando – 2012
Stephanie K. Taylor and Rachel Noland; Oklahoma State University – 2011
Phyllis McLemore – 2010
Cortney Hicks, Oklahoma State University  – 2009
Allison Broyles, Oklahoma State University – 2009
Maria Gaw, University of Tulsa – 2007
Lauren Lott, Oklahoma State University – 2007
Morgan Chaney, Oklahoma State University – 2006
Jessica Ward, Oklahoma State University – 2006
Amanda Hoel, University of Tulsa – 2005
Amanda Martin, Oklahoma State University – 2005

AWC Student Scholarship General Guidelines

Please contact your student chapter liaison, Brandi Davidson Moore for more information. She can also be reached at 918.624.0213.